Answered

Is it possible to manually restore from a .bak file?

rob 11 months ago updated by Peter - Soxware Developer 11 months ago 1

I lost some keyframes and I'm not sure if it was user error (me) or unity didn't save something properly. At 12:30 last night I finished an animation and shut my laptop down. Today when I opened the animation, a bunch of keyframes were missing. I restored from the auto backup made at 12:30 but the frames are not there either. Could the backup be corrupted? Is it possible to inspect the data inside the .bak file?

UMotion Version:
1.22p11
Unity Version:
2019.4.9f1

Answer

Answer
Answered

Hi Rob,

thank you very much for your support request.


The auto backup makes a backup of the project's current state at the interval configured in the preferences. It takes the whole project's data and serializes it into the *.bak file. Unfortunately this data is not human readable so it's not possible to use it manually. If the auto-backup got restored without any error messages, then everything was re-stored correctly.


I'm not sure why your keys are missing, probably because you've deleted them before 12:30 on accident? Have you tried re-storing an earlier backup?


Attention: Auto backups are by default automatically deleted after 36h. You can change this setting in the preferences:

Please let me know in case you have any follow-up questions.


Best regards,
Peter

Answer
Answered

Hi Rob,

thank you very much for your support request.


The auto backup makes a backup of the project's current state at the interval configured in the preferences. It takes the whole project's data and serializes it into the *.bak file. Unfortunately this data is not human readable so it's not possible to use it manually. If the auto-backup got restored without any error messages, then everything was re-stored correctly.


I'm not sure why your keys are missing, probably because you've deleted them before 12:30 on accident? Have you tried re-storing an earlier backup?


Attention: Auto backups are by default automatically deleted after 36h. You can change this setting in the preferences:

Please let me know in case you have any follow-up questions.


Best regards,
Peter